Welcome http://cmpi.org/index CMPI RSS Feed en-us Mon, 04 Jan 2016 21:22:02 -0500 Mon, 04 Jan 2016 21:22:02 -0500 http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss Structure CMS 5.0 editor@cmpi.org (CMPI Editor) cpernice@psycloneinc.com (Christopher Pernice) Trump's Plan To Bring Down Drug Prices Is Winner http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/trump-s-plan-to-bring-down-drug-prices-is-winner President Trump just rolled out his "American Patients First" strategy to bring down drug prices. Thu, 07 Jun 2018 23:47:47 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/trump-s-plan-to-bring-down-drug-prices-is-winner More Generics Aren't A Prescription Drug Cost Silver Bullet http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/more-generics-aren-t-a-prescription-drug-cost-silver-bullet Are more generic prescription drugs the answer to the prescription drug affordability crisis? Thu, 07 Jun 2018 23:41:32 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/more-generics-aren-t-a-prescription-drug-cost-silver-bullet 'It's the health care ecosystem, Stupid' http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/it-s-the-health-care-ecosystem-stupid It’s high time we focused on the questionable practices of Pharmacy Benefit Managers. Thu, 07 Jun 2018 23:34:12 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/it-s-the-health-care-ecosystem-stupid President’s Speech on Drug Pricing: Actions & Implications http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/president-s-speech-on-drug-pricing-actions-implications Fri, 11 May 2018 15:39:33 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/president-s-speech-on-drug-pricing-actions-implications Will Targeting Drug Rebates Help Cut the Cost of Prescription Drugs? http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/will-targeting-drug-rebates-help-cut-the-cost-of-prescription-drugs CMPI President Peter J. Pitts discusses drug rebates and drug pricing Tue, 08 May 2018 03:23:43 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/will-targeting-drug-rebates-help-cut-the-cost-of-prescription-drugs Peter Pitts on CNN: What happens to your DNA when you share it? http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-cnn-what-happens-to-your-dna-when-you-share-it CMPI President Peter Pitts discusses the dangers of DNA-sharing Mon, 30 Apr 2018 06:29:17 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-cnn-what-happens-to-your-dna-when-you-share-it Peter Pitts on CNN: Family tree websites help I.D. serial killer http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-cnn-family-tree-websites-help-i-d-serial-killer Peter J. Pitts discusses privacy concerns raised by using DNA from genealogy websites Sun, 29 Apr 2018 05:24:31 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-cnn-family-tree-websites-help-i-d-serial-killer Advancing Drug Safety Through Prospective Pharmacovigilance http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/advancing-drug-safety-through-prospective-pharmacovigilance There is a raging debate over the level of evidence expected to first introduce a treatment to patients based on smaller, more adaptive data sets. Tue, 17 Apr 2018 06:11:01 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/advancing-drug-safety-through-prospective-pharmacovigilance Surgeon General advises more to carry NARCAN http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/surgeon-general-advises-more-to-carry-narcan Peter Pitts on i24NEWS to discuss the Surgeon General advising more to carry NARCAN Tue, 17 Apr 2018 05:07:16 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/surgeon-general-advises-more-to-carry-narcan It’s Time for the FDA To Embrace Digital Technology http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/it-s-time-for-the-fda-to-embrace-digital-technology The FDA’s drug regulators want to know everything. They require pharmaceutical companies to conduct years of testing to prove that experimental medicines are safe and effective. Tue, 17 Apr 2018 04:35:25 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/it-s-time-for-the-fda-to-embrace-digital-technology Understanding FDA's Blueprint for Transparency http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/understanding-fda-s-blueprint-for-transparency Earlier this year, in one of his first public addresses, FDA Commissioner Scott Gottlieb discussed the agency's on-going “Blueprint for Transparency” initiative. Mon, 26 Mar 2018 21:31:35 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/understanding-fda-s-blueprint-for-transparency These Companies Want You to Sell Your DNA on the Internet http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/these-companies-want-you-to-sell-your-dna-on-the-internet Wed, 14 Mar 2018 17:33:58 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/these-companies-want-you-to-sell-your-dna-on-the-internet Trump’s FDA Pick Is Speeding Up New Drug Approvals http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/trump-s-fda-pick-is-speeding-up-new-drug-approvals During his first year as FDA Commissioner, Scott Gottlieb has dramatically reformed the drug approval process. Wed, 14 Mar 2018 17:26:53 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/trump-s-fda-pick-is-speeding-up-new-drug-approvals A new NAFTA deal must halt intellectual property theft http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/a-new-nafta-deal-must-halt-intellectual-property-theft American trade negotiators ought to make strengthening IP rights their top priority. The status quo hurts American workers and undermines the creation of lifesaving drugs. Wed, 14 Mar 2018 17:12:39 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/a-new-nafta-deal-must-halt-intellectual-property-theft Value of Medicines: The value equation http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/value-of-medicines-the-value-equation As more innovative – yet even more expensive – therapies enter the U.S. market, brand marketers will have to find equally new and innovative ways to prove the value of their medicines to payers and patients, especially as insurance plans continue to put more of the cost burden on patients. Wed, 14 Mar 2018 17:07:12 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/value-of-medicines-the-value-equation The Solution to Drug Pricing? Don’t Fix the Blame, Fix the Problem. http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/the-solution-to-drug-pricing-don-t-fix-the-blame-fix-the-problem The debate over drug pricing has devolved into the repetition of the same old shibboleths. Wed, 14 Mar 2018 17:01:06 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/the-solution-to-drug-pricing-don-t-fix-the-blame-fix-the-problem To cut drug prices, start with the facts http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/to-cut-drug-prices-start-with-the-facts If lawmakers want to reduce people's' pharmacy bills, they should demand more transparency from insurers and PBMs. Wed, 14 Mar 2018 16:55:36 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/to-cut-drug-prices-start-with-the-facts On Drug Prices, President Trump Knows Better Than Candidate Donald http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/on-drug-prices-president-trump-knows-better-than-candidate-donald In his State of the Union address, the President promised that drug prices "will come down" very soon. This isn't fake news. Wed, 14 Mar 2018 16:49:54 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/on-drug-prices-president-trump-knows-better-than-candidate-donald Principles for PBM Reform and Patient Centered Prescription Drug Benefits http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/principles-for-pbm-reform-and-patient-centered-prescription-drug-benefits CMPI & NCPA Forum Panel Two discussion: Principles for PBM Reform and Patient Centered Prescription Drug Benefits Thu, 21 Dec 2017 01:32:44 -0500 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/principles-for-pbm-reform-and-patient-centered-prescription-drug-benefits Keynote Speech: A. Mark Fendrick, M.D. http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/keynote-speech-a-mark-fendrick-m-d CMPI & NCPA Forum Keynote Speech: Mark Fendrick, M.D., Director, Center for Value Based Insurance Design, University of Michigan Thu, 21 Dec 2017 01:26:05 -0500 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/keynote-speech-a-mark-fendrick-m-d How PBMs Affect Access and Affordability http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/how-pbms-affect-access-and-affordability CMPI & NCPA Forum Panel One discussion: How PBMs Affect Access and Affordability Thu, 21 Dec 2017 01:19:22 -0500 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/how-pbms-affect-access-and-affordability CMPI Report: Principles for Patient-Centered Prescription Drug Coverage http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/cmpi-report-principles-for-patient-centered-prescription-drug-coverage CMPI and the National Community Pharmacists Association release new report: "Principles for Patient-Centered Prescription Drug Coverage" Wed, 20 Dec 2017 17:28:50 -0500 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/cmpi-report-principles-for-patient-centered-prescription-drug-coverage Regenerative Medicine Can Help Make America Great http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/regenerative-medicine-can-help-make-america-great The problem isn’t over-regulation. It’s outdated regulation. Sun, 22 Oct 2017 01:15:05 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/regenerative-medicine-can-help-make-america-great The Wrong Way to Dispose of Drugs http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/the-wrong-way-to-dispose-of-drugs Sun, 22 Oct 2017 01:03:56 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/the-wrong-way-to-dispose-of-drugs Government must avoid change in Medicare Part D http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/government-must-avoid-change-in-medicare-part-d Mon, 16 Oct 2017 04:57:49 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/government-must-avoid-change-in-medicare-part-d Managed Care Magazine Launches Attack on Orphans http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/managed-care-magazine-launches-attack-on-orphans As the FDALawBlog points out, in some cases, a single orphan drug designation can result in multiple periods of orphan drug exclusivity. Tue, 01 Aug 2017 15:16:29 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/managed-care-magazine-launches-attack-on-orphans Cut FDA red tape so doctors can better treat patients http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/cut-fda-red-tape-so-doctors-can-better-treat-patients Off-label prescribing has already has saved thousands of lives. The FDA ought to make it easier for doctors and patients to make the most informed treatment decisions possible. Tue, 01 Aug 2017 15:07:01 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/cut-fda-red-tape-so-doctors-can-better-treat-patients When it comes to faster access to drugs, first do no harm http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/when-it-comes-to-faster-access-to-drugs-first-do-no-harm Whether it’s the practice of medicine or the development of public healthcare policy one rule applies – first do no harm. Thu, 27 Jul 2017 14:35:00 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/when-it-comes-to-faster-access-to-drugs-first-do-no-harm The False Promise of Drug-Price Controls http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/the-false-promise-of-drug-price-controls Fixing the prices of prescription drugs creates shortages and stifles research into new drugs. Thu, 27 Jul 2017 14:27:44 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/the-false-promise-of-drug-price-controls Selective Transparency http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/selective-transparency “Price transparency” has become the new health care mantra, especially with regards to prescription drugs. Thu, 27 Jul 2017 14:16:33 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/selective-transparency ICER Perpetuates the Opioid Crisis http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/icer-perpetuates-the-opioid-crisis The new ICER analysis enables cost-containment practices that will perpetuate this crisis. Mon, 24 Jul 2017 08:26:30 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/icer-perpetuates-the-opioid-crisis Peter Pitts discusses Scott Gottlieb and Healthcare Reform on the Bill Martinez Radio Show http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-discusses-scott-gottlieb-and-healthcare-reform-on-the-bill-martinez-radio-show CMPI President Peter Pitts discusses Senate confirmation process for Scott Gottlieb and the Healthcare Bill headed to the US Senate Mon, 24 Jul 2017 08:20:00 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-discusses-scott-gottlieb-and-healthcare-reform-on-the-bill-martinez-radio-show Blue Cross Blue Shield BS on Rx $ http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/blue-cross-blue-shield-bs-on-rx The policy shop of BCBS has released a report about drug costs that is deliberately deceptive and misleading. Mon, 24 Jul 2017 08:01:41 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/blue-cross-blue-shield-bs-on-rx Safety Events Common in Newly Approved Drugs http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/safety-events-common-in-newly-approved-drugs Nearly one third of drugs newly approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) are affected by safety issues that were not known at the time of approval, a study has shown. Mon, 24 Jul 2017 07:55:12 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/safety-events-common-in-newly-approved-drugs Peter Pitts on Healthcare Bill's Passage in US House http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-healthcare-bill-s-passage-in-us-house CMPI President Peter J. Pitts discusses passage of the GOP Healthcare Bill in the US House of Representatives Mon, 24 Jul 2017 07:43:56 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-healthcare-bill-s-passage-in-us-house Making Drug Manufacturing Great Again http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/making-drug-manufacturing-great-again President Trump wants to lower drug prices and reinvigorate domestic pharmaceutical manufacturing. Mon, 24 Jul 2017 07:18:33 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/making-drug-manufacturing-great-again Peter Pitts discusses progress of GOP Healthcare Bill on i24NEWS http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-discusses-progress-of-gop-healthcare-bill-on-i24news CMPI President Peter J. Pitts discusses GOP Healthcare Bill on i24NEWS Mon, 24 Jul 2017 07:07:51 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-discusses-progress-of-gop-healthcare-bill-on-i24news Peter Pitts on WOR 710 "In The Arena" http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-wor-710-in-the-arena CMPI President Peter Pitts weighs in on the healthcare debate Mon, 17 Jul 2017 05:42:21 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-wor-710-in-the-arena Patients vs PBMs: The Movie http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/patients-vs-pbms-the-movie Patients vs PBMs: The Movie Fri, 14 Jul 2017 07:19:45 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/patients-vs-pbms-the-movie Peter Pitts on Fox News: How the pharmaceutical industry fits into the opioid crisis http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-fox-news-how-the-pharmaceutical-industry-fits-into-the-opioid-crisis On 'Special Report,' Doug McKelway takes an in-depth look at the relationship between money and addiction Fri, 23 Jun 2017 18:20:26 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-fox-news-how-the-pharmaceutical-industry-fits-into-the-opioid-crisis How Trump and the FDA Can Create a Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Renaissance http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/how-trump-and-the-fda-can-create-a-pharmaceutical-manufacturing-renaissance In January, President Donald Trump said, “We have got to get our drug industry back.” Thu, 22 Jun 2017 08:03:52 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/how-trump-and-the-fda-can-create-a-pharmaceutical-manufacturing-renaissance ICER Devalues People With Rheumatoid Arthritis http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/icer-devalues-people-with-rheumatoid-arthritis ICER's 'studies' are the cold fusion experiments of health care economics. Thu, 22 Jun 2017 07:59:18 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/icer-devalues-people-with-rheumatoid-arthritis Peter Pitts on CNBC: Revised 'bottom up' US healthcare bill delayed http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-cnbc-revised-bottom-up-us-healthcare-bill-delayed Peter Pitts of the Center for Medicine in the Public Interest says he's "pretty positive" factions within the Republican party could work something out soon. Mon, 19 Jun 2017 06:32:54 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-on-cnbc-revised-bottom-up-us-healthcare-bill-delayed Gottlieb Likely to Take On Off-Label, Predictability at the FDA http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/gottlieb-likely-to-take-on-off-label-predictability-at-the-fda Dr. Scott Gottlieb is the right man in the right place at the right time. Thu, 15 Jun 2017 07:02:21 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/gottlieb-likely-to-take-on-off-label-predictability-at-the-fda CMPI President Peter J. Pitts discusses the American Health Care Act on i24News http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/cmpi-president-peter-j-pitts-discusses-the-american-health-care-act-on-i24news CMPI President Peter J. Pitts discusses the American Health Care Act on i24News Thu, 15 Jun 2017 06:46:58 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/cmpi-president-peter-j-pitts-discusses-the-american-health-care-act-on-i24news Peter Pitts discusses new GOP Healthcare Plan http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-discusses-new-gop-healthcare-plan Peter Pitts and Ethan Bearman debate the ins and outs of GOP's new healthcare plan Thu, 15 Jun 2017 06:35:15 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/peter-pitts-discusses-new-gop-healthcare-plan CMPI President Peter J. Pitts discusses the Opioid Crisis on i24NEWS http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/cmpi-president-peter-j-pitts-discusses-the-opioid-crisis-on-i24news Thu, 15 Jun 2017 06:16:38 -0400 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/cmpi-president-peter-j-pitts-discusses-the-opioid-crisis-on-i24news Pharmaceutical Industry Raises Issue with Cuomo's Drug Price Control Proposal http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/pharmaceutical-industry-raises-issue-with-cuomo-s-drug-price-control-proposal CMPI President Peter Pitts appears on NY1 News to discuss Governor Cuomo's prescription drug proposal Fri, 10 Mar 2017 05:18:34 -0500 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/pharmaceutical-industry-raises-issue-with-cuomo-s-drug-price-control-proposal U.N.'s errant prescription for drug access http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/u-n-s-errant-prescription-for-drug-access The U.N.'s war on IP rights ignores the real barrier to drug access: insufficient medical infrastructure. Fri, 10 Mar 2017 05:12:25 -0500 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/u-n-s-errant-prescription-for-drug-access How Other Countries Freeload on U.S. Drug Research http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/how-other-countries-freeload-on-u-s-drug-research Letting Americans buy prescriptions from foreign retailers would impair the development of new cures. Thu, 23 Feb 2017 06:32:29 -0500 http://cmpi.org/in-the-news/how-other-countries-freeload-on-u-s-drug-research